8th Edition Malta Mathematics Olympiad 2015

The Department of Curriculum Management within the Directorate for Quality and Standards in Education held the Eighth Malta Mathematics Olympiad on  24th March 2015 at  San Gorg Preca College, Girls Secondary School, Blata l-Bajda.

The aim of the Malta Mathematics Olympiad is to foster problem-solving skills in young students in an atmosphere of healthy competition. The activity also aims to promote team work and induce a positive attitude towards mathematics.

The competition was open for students of Forms 3 and 4 from state and non-state secondary schools in Malta. This year’s was a record edition with the participation of 36 schools. Each school was represented by one team of three students and a reserve. All individual students, 139 in all, competed in the individual event which was won by  Mark John Mallia of St Martin’s college. Adam Buckle of Stella Maris College placed second while Samuel John Barthet came in third after a play-off with Christopher Conrad of St Catherine’s High school.

The overall winner of the team event was St Martin’s College represented by Mark John Mallia, Andrea Calleja, Michaela Zammit and Mark Farrugia. Stella Maris College came in second while St Ignatius College Girls secondary came in third.

The first Malta Mathematics Olympiad was held in 2000. The competition was organised to commemorate the World Mathematical Year 2000. In 2004 the Olympiad included, for the first time, an individual competition.

Winners of Past Editions
Team Competition   Individual Competition
2000 M. A. Vassalli Junior Lyceum
2002 St. Aloysius College
2004 St. Aloysius College 2004 Andrew Said
2007 St. Aloysius College 2007 Rachel Farrell
2009 Savio College 2009 Kurt Portelli
2011 Savio College 2011 Peter Valletta
2013 St. Aloysius College 2013 Raphael Farrugia
2015 St Martin’s College 2015 Mark John Mallia